The Black Lotus

Kieran Fanning / Children's

Book cover

UK Publisher

Chicken House (World)

US Publisher

Scholastic

Date Published

August 6th, 2015

Translations

Chicken House / Carlsen Verlag (German)

Dramatic Rights

Ghost, Cormac and Kate are not like other kids. Ghost can turn invisible, Cormac can run up walls and Kate can talk to animals – all abilities which make them perfect recruits for the Black Lotus, a training school for ninjas. But when the Moon Sword – a source of unimaginable power – is stolen by samurai, the three are forced to put their new skills to the test, battling through sixteenth-century Japan and present-day New York to stop a power-hungry shogun from destroying the city…

The first in the Samurai Wars trilogy, this is a fresh and exciting action-packed novel from a first-time author. Featuring a rich variety of characters, with authentic voices and exciting superhero-like abilities, The Black Lotus is perfect for fans of Chris Bradford and Anthony Horowitz.


Reviews

A powerful new voice in children's fiction... I could almost hear the samurai swords swish.

- Eoin Colfer, author of Artemis Fowl

A confident and lively novel which moves easily across various settings and time zones, providing some excellently conceived scenes of high drama en route. Ninja fans and aficionados of martial arts are in for a treat here.

- Robert Dunbar, The Irish Times

A Ninja thriller which skips across time zones and continents at breathtaking speed.

- Evening Echo

Kieran Fanning's debut piles on the giddy, crowd-pleasing thrills like presents under a Christmas tree. Crossing continents and centuries, the book moves with the urgency and momentum of an action movie... but it's really a story about friendship, loyalty and bravery.

- Paul Kirkley, SFX Magazine

The Black Lotus presents an exciting, unfamiliar world of superpowers and super stealth... With some excellent world building, this book gets five out of five throwing stars for action and adventure.

- Inis Magazine Reading Guide 2015

This site uses cookies - by continuing to use this site you are agreeing to the use of cookies.