Five MMBcreative authors shortlisted for the Irish Book Awards

Congratulations to Tim Carey, Claire Hennessy, Indy Power, ER Murray and EM Reapy, who are shortlisted for the Irish Book Awards 2016.


The Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards 2016 shortlist announced on 25th October features a diverse mix of exceptional writing from new and established writers across fourteen categories, including Novel of the Year, Children’s, Cookery, Crime Fiction, Popular Fiction, Nonfiction, Sports, Short Story and Poetry.


Now in its 11th year, the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards was founded to celebrate and promote Irish writing to the widest range of readers possible. Each year it brings together a huge community passionate about books – readers, authors, booksellers, publishers and librarians – to recognise and celebrate the very best Irish writing talent.


Votes may be cast until midnight on the 11th November 2016 and the winners will be announced at the awards ceremony in Dublin’s Double Tree by Hilton Hotel on Wednesday, 16th November. The annual awards ceremony has become one of the premier events in the Irish literary calendar. Presidents, Taoisigh, Nobel Laureates, and most of the best writers in Ireland have attended this unique celebration of Irish literature which is broadcast to the nation on RTÉ TV.


Commenting on this year’s shortlist Larry McHale, Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards Chairperson, said: “As the flagship event for the Irish Book Industry, the over-riding motivation behind the awards is to celebrate the extraordinary quality of Irish writing, to help bring the best books to a wider readership annually, and to promote an industry under severe competitive pressure. We’re delighted with the quality of this year’s shortlist – sincere congratulations to all the shortlisted authors and their publishers.”


Dave Kirwan, Managing Director at Bord Gáis Energy, added: ‘The Bord Gáis Energy Irish Books Awards is widely regarded as the highlight of the Irish literary calendar. Year after year, the shortlist features an impressively high standard of Irish writers, and this year is no different. I’d like to congratulate all this year’s shortlisted authors and publishers and wish the very best of luck to each and every one.’

This site uses cookies - by continuing to use this site you are agreeing to the use of cookies.