Lisa McInerney’s The Blood Miracles has been longlisted for this year’s Dylan Thomas Prize.

The winner of the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction and a recipient of the Geoffrey Dearmer Prize are among 12 books on the longlist for the £30,000 International Dylan Thomas Prize in partnership with Swansea University.

Dylan Thomas Prize logoAwarded for the best published literary work in the English language, written by an author aged 39 or under, the prize is named after the Swansea-born writer, Dylan Thomas, and celebrates his 39 years of creativity and productivity. One of the most influential, internationally-renowned writers of the mid-twentieth century, the prize invokes his memory to support the writers of today and nurture the talents of tomorrow.

Launched in 2006, The Swansea University International Dylan Thomas Prize is the largest literary prize in the world for young writers.

This year’s longlist of 12 books comprises: eight novels, two short story collections, and two volumes of poetry.

Zambian born author, Kayo Chingonyi, joins authors from the UK, Ireland, America, India, and Nigeria on the longlist as they contend for the £30,000 prize.

Ayọ̀bámi Adébáyọ̀, Stay With Me (Canongate Books)
Kayo Chingonyi, Kumukanda (Vintage – Chatto & Windus)
Meena Kandasamy, When I Hit You (Atlantic Books)
Lisa McInerney, The Blood Miracles (John Murray)
Carmen Maria Machado, Her Body and Other Parties (Serpent’s Tail / Graywolf)
Fiona Mozley, Elmet (JM Originals)
Gwendoline Riley, First Love (Granta)
Sally Rooney, Conversations With Friends (Faber & Faber)
Emily Ruskovich, Idaho (Vintage – Chatto & Windus)
Gabriel Tallent, My Absolute Darling (4th Estate / Riverhead Books)
Eley Williams, Attrib. and Other Stories (Influx Press)
James Womack, On Trust: A Book of Lies (Carcanet Press)

Longlist Announcement

This site uses cookies - by continuing to use this site you are agreeing to the use of cookies.