Lisa McInerney chairs the Desmond Elliott Prize 2021 *longlist now announced*

This year the Desmond Elliott Prize prize 2021 is being chaired by our very own author, Lisa McInerney, who won it herself in 2016.

The Prize – which is presented in the name of the late literary agent and publisher Desmond Elliott – has longlisted six titles from independent publishers, including Faber, Granta Books, Saraband, Scribe, and Tramp Press. Crowdfunding publisher Unbound makes the longlist for the first time this year, with Crow Court by Andy Charman. The longlist also features contenders from Orion, Little Brown, and Penguin Random House imprints Viking and William Heinemann.

Here is the longlist, in full:

The Manningtree Witches by AK Blakemore – Granta Books
Crow Court by Andy Charman – Unbound
Exciting Times by Naoise Dolan – Weidenfeld & Nicolson/Orion Publishing Group How We Are Translated by Jessica Gaitán Johannesson – Scribe
Rainbow Milk by Paul Mendez – Dialogue Books/Little Brown Book Group
Castles from Cobwebs by J.A. Mensah – Saraband
Open Water by Caleb Azumah Nelson – Viking/Penguin Random House
A Ghost in the Throat by Doireann Ní Ghríofa – Tramp Press
little scratch by Rebecca Watson – Faber
The Liar’s Dictionary by Eley Williams – William Heinemann/Penguin Random House

This site uses cookies - by continuing to use this site you are agreeing to the use of cookies.