Kuba Shand-Baptiste.

Author

Twitter

Agent: Ivan Mulcahy

December 2020: Hats off to Kuba Shand-Baptiste for winning the inaugural Barbara Blake-Hannah Prize.

Watch the charming zoom ceremony awarding here.

Shand-Baptiste was nominated for her work as Deputy Editor on the Voices comment section of The Independent. She has since joined The Conversation as society and arts editor.

She has written essays for Loud Black Girls: 20 Black Women Writers Ask: What’s Next? (4th Estate 2020) as featured on British Vogue’s website and gal-dem’s “I Will Not Be Erased”: Our stories about growing up as people of colour.

At the moment, Kuba is in the process of writing her debut (short) novel, Soon Come, which tells a story of separation, trauma, and tenacity, inspired by the real lives of three Jamaican-British citizens in London, including two who faced wrongful deportation to Jamaica. Fans of Monica Ali’s Brick Lane or Zadie Smith’s White Teeth will enjoy this book.

 

 

This site uses cookies - by continuing to use this site you are agreeing to the use of cookies.