The Book of Learning (Nine Lives Trilogy: Book 1)

Elizabeth Rose Murray / Children's

Book cover

UK Publisher

Mercier Press (World)

Date Published

August 28th, 2015

Dramatic Rights

Ripple World Pictures

*The selected book for UNESCO’s 2016 Citywide Reading for Children campaign*

Sometimes, it takes more than one lifetime to put things right.

After the death of her beloved grandpa, Ebony Smart’s world is turned upside down. Sent to Dublin to live with an aunt she didn’t know existed, she soon discovers that her new home, 23 Mercury Lane, is full of secrets.

Learning that she is part of an ancient order of people who have the power to reincarnate, Ebony quickly discovers that a terrible evil threatens their existence. With just her pet rat, Winston, and a mysterious book to help her, she must figure out why her people are disappearing and how to save their souls, including her own, before time runs out…


E. R. Murray’s middle-grade mystery of magic and reincarnation is a thrilling and promising début... Highly recommended for 9 -12 year olds.

- Children's Books Ireland

This site uses cookies - by continuing to use this site you are agreeing to the use of cookies.